Brooklyn Public Library


The Prize of Peace

Dec 10, 2009 2:31 PM | 0 comments

The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to 120 Nobel Laureates 90 times since 1901. President Obama is the most recent recipient, in an awards ceremony today in Oslo. There’s been some controversy around giving him the award, primarily because of his short time in office and his decision to send more troops to Afghanistan.

Regardless, it’s a momentous occasion and one that piqued my interest in seeing who else has received the award. The list is long and full of luminaries, including another president (Jimmy Carter), Nelson Mandela, and the 14th Dalai Lama.


There are many books about this important prize and the fascinating people who have received it, and BPL is the place to find them.

A short sampling:


2007 - Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Al Gore

2006 - Muhammad Yunus, Grameen Bank

1991 - Aung San Suu Kyi

1986 - Elie Wiesel

1931 - Jane Addams, Nicholas Murray Butler



Bookmark and Share